So Google just announced that the promotional free 100GB Google Drive storage is ending in 2 weeks [March 17, 2017] šŸ˜¦ This has elicited mixed reactions from local guides acrossĀ all levels with the upper tier (Level 4 & 5) supporting the decision, while the lower tier (Levels 1, 2 & 3) being less supportive of it.

I was lucky enough to have clocked Level 4 before they dropped this on us…Ā yeei!!!

local-guides-level-4

I just went through the comments section and made a very interesting realization; only the guys that have already received this storage seem to support the idea. Here’s my thoughts as I posted them;

It’s very interesting to see that the only guides seeing the good in this move areĀ Level 5. I guess it’s coz by the time your contribution reaches that level there’s enough nostalgia to contribute, so the perks stop being that much of a motivation.Ā I personally don’t know what I’ll do with my newly revamped storage (what a good time to clock Level 4), considering I’m yet to exhaust my free 15GB plan, but I guess I’m just the type that would rather have it and not need it, than need it but not have it.

Regardless, I’m also curious to see where this goes.

Let’s see what they have in store for us.

Fun Fact:Ā This promotional offer was initially 1TB valid for 2 yearsĀ before it was downsized to 100GB valid for 1 year, and now it’s gone. What could they possibly offer next if they’re out of cloud?

